RULES AND FIELD MECHANICS
Test 12

Situation 1:  The runner from 1st is attempting to steal 2nd.  He slides hard into the base and it comes out of the ground and lands several feet away.  The 2nd baseman then tags the runner, who is not touching the base. Is he out?

Situation 2:  The batter has a 3-1 count when his manager charges from the dugout, pointing out to the umpire that the wrong batter is at bat.  He summons the proper batter to replace the improper batter.  Should the umpire allow this swap?

Situation 3:  JR/SR/BL The runner on 1st base takes off for 2nd on the pitch, the batter swings at the pitch…misses…and the pitch hits him.  What’s your ruling?

Situation 4:  The pitcher has a problem releasing the ball and fires it into the ground.  The ball bounces once and enters the strike zone.  The bewildered batter is surprised and takes the pitch.  Is this a strike?

Situation 5:  JR/SR/BL The base runner on 1st is running on the pitch…the batter flies out to right…the right fielder throws to 1st to double up the runner, but the ball sails into the stands.  Seeing the ball out-of-play…the returning runner stops in his tracks…reverses course and proceeds around 2nd, and on to 3rd.  Do you allow this?

Situation 6:  Irwin is due up in the 9th spot followed by Abel: however, Abel improperly comes to bat in his place and singles to right field.  The opposing manager appeals to the umpire that Abel batted out of order…Who is the next proper batter?
Situation 7:  Runner on 1st with the 1st baseman playing in, the batter smashes a hot grounder toward 1st.  The 1st baseman dives for the ball. He cannot come up with it, but he deflects it back toward the 2nd baseman.  However, the ball strikes the runner before it can be fielded.  The 2nd baseman had a good chance of retiring the batter-runner.  Who is out?
Situation 8:  Runner on 1st, no outs, and the batter smashes a line drive back up the middle.  The pitcher stabs at it with his glove hand, but only manages to deflect it onto the ground toward 2nd.  The 2nd baseman charges in to field the ball as the runner from 1st accidentally collides with him.  The 2nd baseman had a legitimate chance of retiring the batter-runner.  Who’s out?

Situation 9:  With 2 outs and runners on 1st and 2nd, the batter triples, scoring both runners.  The runner from 1st missed 3rd base en route home.  On the appeal attempt at 3rd, the ball is thrown away and rolls toward the stands.  The batter-runner standing on 3rd, scores easily.  The 3rd baseman retrieves the ball and tries the appeal again. What’s your ruling?
Situation 10:  The pitcher’s pick-off attempt sails by the 1st baseman and ricochets down the line in foul territory.  The runner heads for 3rd and is safe on a close play; however, he missed 2nd base en route.  Since a play occurred after the missed base, Can the defense still appeal at 2nd?
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