RULES AND FIELD MECHANICS
Test 13

Situation 1:  With a runner on 2nd, the batter lines a 1-hopper to the right fielder.  The runner missed 3rd en route home.  The right fielder’s throw beats the runner home and a rundown ensues.  The runner is obstructed by the catcher during the rundown.  The umpire calls “time” and awards the runner home.  The runner crosses the plate.  May the defensive team nullify this run by making a proper appeal at 3rd?

Situation 2:  JR/SR/BL – There is a runner on 1st, there is 1 out, and there is a count of 3-1.  The pitcher balks, but goes ahead and pitches.  The pitch is wild and gets by the catcher.  The batter reaches 1st, but the runner from 1st is thrown out at 3rd.  Does this play stand, or would you nullify the out and award the runner 2nd base on the balk?
Situation 3:  With 3 balls and 1 strike on the batter and 1 out, the pitcher fires a fastball into the dirt. It deflects off the catcher’s shin-guard and rolls into the 1st base dugout.  The offensive manager argues that the batter should be awarded 2nd base since he would have gotten 1st on “ball four”.  Do you agree?
Situation 4:  A runner is on 1st base and the batter hits a ground ball to the 3rd baseman, who throws to 2nd too late to retire the runner.  The 2nd baseman throws to 1st after the batter-runner has already touched 1st base.  The ball deflects off the 1st baseman’s mitt and rolls into the dugout.  Where are the runners placed?

Situation 5:  JR/SR/BL With the bases empty and no outs, the batter is called out on “Strike 3”.  The pitch eludes the catcher and rolls toward the 1st base dugout.  The batter-runner takes off for 1st and is running in fair territory when the catcher’s throw to 1st hits him. Is he out?
Situation 6: JR/SR/BL 2nd base is occupied and the pitcher is in his “set position.”  Expecting the runner to be stealing on the pitch, the pitcher starts his delivery, but instead of delivering to the batter, he fires to the 3rd baseman covering the base.  To everyone’s surprise, the runner never leaves 2nd.  Is this a balk?

Situation 7:  With a runner on 1st base, the batter lines a base hit into left field.  The runner from 1st is approaching 2nd as the left fielder’s high throw is knocked to the ground by the 2nd baseman’s thrown glove.  Is this legal, or do you award the runners bases?

Situation 8:  JR/SR/BL – There are 2 outs and a runner on 2nd and 3rd.  The pitcher balks, but goes ahead and delivers the pitch. The batter slashes a double into right-center, scoring both runners.  The batter is declared out when the defensive team appeals that he missed 1st base.  How many runs score?

Situation 9:  JR/SR/BL - There are runners on 1st and 3rd.  The pitcher is in the “set position.”  The runner on 3rd breaks toward home.  The pitcher steps directly toward 3rd and fakes a throw.  The runner dives back into 3rd base as the pitcher holds the ball.  Is this a balk?
Situation 10:  The pitcher rocks and burns a fast ball toward the plate.  Unfortunately for all, the pitch is a 44-foot fast ball that hits in front of the plate and strikes the batter before he can even think about getting out of the way.  Now what are you going to call?
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